March 30, 2005

Nine dioceses yet to indicate sex abuse trust contributions

One in Four

Patsy McGarry, Religious Affairs Correspondent - Irish Times

Nine of Ireland's 26 Catholic dioceses have yet to indicate how much they contributed to the church's Stewardship Trust and how this money was raised.

All nine are in the Republic and include the archdioceses of Tuam and Cashel & Emly.

Trustees of the Stewardship Trust, which is responsible for paying the cost of compensation and services to victims of clerical child sex abuse, are the four Catholic archbishops in Ireland.

These include the Archbishop of Tuam, Dr Michael Neary, and the Archbishop of Cashel & Emly, Dr Dermot Clifford.

The remaining dioceses yet to disclose are Achonry, Ardagh & Clonmacnoise, Meath, Kildare & Leighlin, Killaloe, Cashel & Emly, Ossory, and Cloyne.

Posted by kshaw at March 30, 2005 09:22 AM